Two Works of Art

Fig. 1 History Has Its Eyes On You. 2017, Photograph, Twitter, twitter.com/GBRIELGRY/status/823061186367238144?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw.

Fig. 2. Magritte, Rene, The Lovers II. 1928, Oil on Canvas, Museum of Modern Art, New York, www.moma.org/collection/works/79933.

These are two images which have only recently come into my life. The first, coming from the women’s march on January 21, 2017. This is a momentous day in my life which I will carry with me throughout. Though oceans separate me from Trump’s presidency, I still feel the fear which many Americans also hold. His campaign spewed hatred towards anyone who wasn’t a white, cisgendered, heterosexual, abled man. It baffled me that an under-qualified, sexual predator can still be elected over a competent woman with the experience and intelligence that if a man had, would have seen her elected instead. So, as I lay in bed on a Sunday morning, my mum came running into my room and dragged me out to the lounge and turned on the TV. To see hundreds of thousands of people filling the streets of not only Washington, but Los Angeles, London and even here in New Zealand, filled me in an indescribable way. Can you imagine being so hated that you can unite people over every single continent? However, unlike many of Trump’s supporters, everyone found at the marches were uniting in love. Everyone came together to stand up for each other.

Not only this, but I also have a deep love for science fiction. Star Wars is a part of my childhood and with Carrie Fisher’s recent death, her strength and courage was at the forefront of my mind. So, to see these two things combined in such a haunting way reminds me that not only much we be fearless in the face of bigotry, we must also think about our actions and how they will affect those around us. While I may not be recognized in the history of the universe, what I choose to do still matters.

The second image is one that I happened to stumble upon on a very late night when I couldn’t sleep. My understanding of the The Lovers change every time I see it. I love how infatuated they seem but then the veils in between them says differently. This is now my phone wallpaper and I look at it many times throughout the day and I still am no closer to “getting it”. But, a part of me really likes that too.

Leave a Reply

